Linen, Eyelets & Stripes: A Spring Accessory

3 Jun

I’ve been just messing around swatching and getting the hang of using my new-to-me knitting machine since it arrived. Until this week I hadn’t actually started a piece with the intention of completion. I decided to do a quick project to see what I was capable of.

I’m really happy with it! As far as I know, there isn’t really a book of rules regarding proper machine knitting construction (my knitwear design classes at school don’t even use books), so I just kind of winged it and hoped for the best. I learned a lot in the process of making this little cowl, and I really pinpointed what I can do better, or more efficiently next time.

The linen yarn and lace detail make it the perfect accessory for unpredictable West coast climates, or anywhere you might encounter and unexpected breeze or chill in the air during the summer.

Right now I’m trying to work out the logistics of designing more complicated pieces like hats, vests, or tank tops on my machine. When I figure it out I’ll let you know!

3 Responses to “Linen, Eyelets & Stripes: A Spring Accessory”

  1. mskristiina September 28, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    It’s pretty! I’m thinking about getting a knitting machine because I get pains in my hands a lot when I knit. Can I ask what kind you got and any advice on picking one out?

  2. Kristen September 28, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    My machine is a standard gauge SilverReed SK280, which gives you a finer gauge knit like you can see in the photos. If you want something that more resembles a “hand knit” look then you could go with a mid gauge or bulky gauge machine, Those machines are also less expensive, but of course if you want to make garments the finer the gauge the knit the better the fit will be.

    You can find used machines on ebay, but it can be pretty difficult to know what to look for if you’re unfamiliar with the terminology. I really like my SilverReed machine, which also has been manufactured under the name Studio or Singer. Brother machines are also supposed to be good, but I’ve never used one. If you’re on Ravelry there is a machine knitting forum you can hang out in and ask questions on!

    There aren’t a lot of resources for patterns, but I like the knitting machine because I find it much easier to be creative and to experiment without worrying about putting hours of work into something and then having to rip it out. You can find pattern books on ebay from the 80’s with silhouettes that you can modify and add your own design details to.

  3. mskristiina September 28, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

