A Weekend in Los Angeles: Part Two

25 May

On Sunday we got up around 7  a.m. to head to Van Nuys and start setting up the FARM table for WorldFest. I volunteered to help out for the day promoting and take registrations for the Animal Rights National Conference in LA this summer. Plus free admission! Score!

Here I am, keeping an eye on things.

Since we were there for about 10 hours there wasn’t much to do to keep ourselves entertained during the slow spells besides sample all of the delicious food available.

First things first. Vegan funnel cake with strawberries and whipped cream. That’s right. Funnel cake. It was from that vendor with kettle corn and lemonade thats been at every festival or fair you’ve ever attended.

I had been eager to sample something from Jam Vegan Bakery since I heard they would be attending. My little oatmeal cream pie was quite tasty!

Northern California’s own vegan nacho cheese company Nacheez was there slinging up nachos. I swear, it was exactly like I remember 7-Eleven gas station nachos tasting as a kid.

And they were sharing a booth with So Delicious where you could get your scoop of mint chocolate chip or mocha almond fudge coconut ice cream with a brownie!

As for non-food related items, there were baby cows from Gentle Barn that just about made my heart explode. You do not know adorable until you’ve had a calf rub its face on your tummy! And there were all sorts of great vegan businesses hawking their wares. I picked up this awesome tote bag and some stickers from the Herbivore booth. It’s the perfect summer tote; I can see it easily holding  a beach towel, water bottle, and of course my knitting.

After a successful day for FARM we packed up the booth and started the six hour journey home. Overall, I thought it was a great event! Certainly the best vegan/eco festival I’ve ever attended. I would love to be able to go again next year, but I also have my fingers crossed that something similar will come to the Bay Area!

4 Responses to “A Weekend in Los Angeles: Part Two”

  1. Megan May 25, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    That bag is adorbs!!

  2. news June 3, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    Oh man! This blog site is sick! How can I make it look like this .

  3. ballet Bible free ebook download April 24, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

    Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text
    in your article seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let
    you know. The design look great though! Hope you get the issue solved soon.
    Kudos

  4. Florian May 27, 2013 at 4:58 am #

    Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I
    was wondering your situation; many of us have created some nice methods and we are looking to exchange solutions with other folks, why not shoot
    me an email if interested.

Leave a Reply

