A Visit to the New Art Fibers

14 Nov

We’re starting to work on our final projects for my knitwear design and construction class. I’ve been stuck working with acrylic for my sample swatches most of the semester, but for this project we get to choose our own yarn. The problem is the yarn provided isn’t always adequately labeled and I have no clue what’s vegan, and what is vegan doesn’t come in the colors I want, so I just said screw it and just decided to buy some of my own yarn.

After class I took a trip to the newly reopened Art Fibers in downtown San Francisco where they sell luxury yarn by the yard, and you can buy on it wound cones too! This is great for machine knitting because that means I don’t have to put it on the cone myself! Fancy! Another great thing about yarn by the yard is that you don’t have that annoying issue of needing 307 yards but the skein is only 300 yards, which forces you to buy a whole new skein that you’re probably not actually going to use, but hey you’ll buy it just in case.

The new Art Fibers space is pretty neat. I only went to the old location once, but I fairly remember the store being  hard to find and inside kind of dark and uninviting. The new space is huge, has a great amount of natural light, and certainly gives off a “studio loft” type vibe which suits their downtown, 3rd floor location. They sell a limited quantity of luxury yarns so swatches, skeins and content information are all laid out on tables for browsing, instead of the usual wall-to-wall shelves you’ll find at most  yarn shops. The staff is sweet and helpful.

As for vegan friendliness they get an A+ from me.  I would guess that almost 1/3 of the yarn they carry is vegan. I made off with two cones of a surprisingly soft 100% linen in variegated colors that work perfectly for my project.

So yeah! Check it out if you’re in the area you’ll find some great yarn you can’t find anywhere else.

I actually can’t believe I’m starting on my final projects. It feels like just yesterday I was all nervous about going to my first knitwear design class. As much fun as I’m having, I can’t say I’m sad to see the holiday break fast approaching.

Today is the last day to enter the contest to win a signed copy of the Vegan Girl’s Guide to Life, I’m drawing the name at midnight! So get commenting and tweetin’!

One Response to “A Visit to the New Art Fibers”

  1. kala November 14, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    Art Fibers has some fun yarns, our knitting group did a “Yarn Tasting” with them a the summer before last and it was a blast!

Leave a Reply

