Millennium MOFOin’

9 Nov


This weekend my boyfriend’s parents were in town and they took us to Millennium, the fancy-fancy all vegan restaurant in downtown San Francisco. It’s our go-to place for celebrating holidays, anniversaries, quitting our jobs, getting new jobs, etc. so I’ve been quite a few times sine moving to San Francisco over 3 years ago, but I feel the experience is always worth making note of.

I’m a dumby and forgot to grab an extra menu, but I’ll do the best I can at the wordy descriptions.

I started with the Little Gem salad with a Caesar vinaigrette and smoked tofu. Despite the rotating seasonal menu, they tend to have this salad quite often and I highly recommend it because it is just so delicious.

I also got to try a few bites of the potato salad. I believe there were two types of potatoes, crispy capers, avocados and a tasty dressing.

And then our table was pleasantly surprised with a complimentary appetizer, an edamame rice cake with various sea vegetables. I don’t think I would have normally picked out this dish, but after trying a few bites I wanted to order one all for for myself.

For my entrée I had the maple butternut squash risotto with smoked tofu, artichoke hearts, crunchy filberts and a delicious red reduction sauce that may have been cranberry based, but I could be completely confused. It was all my favorite things in one dish, but I could barely manage to eat half of it, after all I had to save room for dessert!

When you go to Millennium you have to order dessert, I knew right when I looked at the menu I would be ordering the pumpkin cheesecake with a brownie crust, some kind of berry compote and a boozy sweet cream sauce. It was just as good as I imagined it would be.

I know, I know, I totally failed at recalling the descriptions. You’ll just have to go see for yourself. It’s worth every penny, and I would say it’s decently priced for a high-end restaurant. Plus, they have all sort of discount nights and prix fixe menus you can take advantage of if you have to work within a budget.

And don’t forget to enter to win a signed copy of The Vegan Girls Guide to Life. I’m closing the contest at 11:59 p.m. on Sunday the 14th!

One Response to “Millennium MOFOin’”

  1. kala November 10, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    I sooo want to go there!

Leave a Reply

