MOFO plus a giveaway!

1 Nov

As many of you may know by now, November is the fifth annual Vegan MOFO, or Vegan Month of Food. For anyone not in the loop quite yet, the goal of MOFO is to write a food related blog post every week day to help get the word out that vegan food is DELICIOUS! Right now there are almost 500 bloggers participating, so be sure to check them out!

Now, I’m not delusional enough to think that I could possibly blog every day at this particular junction in my life, heck I can’t even keep up once a month it seems, but you may see a few food and cooking inspired posts from me this month. Hopefully next year I’ll be able to go all out!

Now onto the reason you all even bothered to read this post; we’re having a giveaway! My friend Melisser’s book The Vegan Girls Guide to Life comes out this month today (happy book release day, Melisser!) and I’m giving away a signed copy to one lucky reader! This book is going to be great, and I’m not just saying that because there is a little knitting project and vegan yarn guide contributed by yours truly in it. This book is also full of yummy recipes, cruelty free beauty and fashion advice, craft projects, and travel tips.

To enter leave a comment and tell me about your favorite fall dish (vegan please!), make sure your email is located somewhere so I can contact you if you win.

After you have entered, you can earn one extra entry by tweeting the following (be sure and leave a SEPARATE comment telling me you have done so and include your twitter username!): Enter to win The Vegan Girls Guide to Life from @tree_wool here http://wp.me/pV0cu-3G

The contest ends the date of the book release the date that the books are being shipped out* which is November 15th. The winner will be chosen that day at random and once I have your address the book will be ship to you! This contest is open to international residents.

Good luck and happy November!

*Sorry for the confusion, the book is technically out today but if you buy directly from the author (which you should!) your book will ship the 15th

54 Responses to “MOFO plus a giveaway!”

  1. katie November 1, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    My favorite thing right now is a lentil sweet potato stew. It is so good and comforting!

  2. ian November 1, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    There’s a mushroom barley stew with biscuit crust (aka dumplings) that I found in a WIlliams-Sonoma veg cookbook that I love on cold fall nights. So satisfying!

  3. ian November 1, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    also tweeted from @kowloonwc!

  4. Kelle November 1, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Vegan Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls!!

  5. Becca November 1, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Cauliflower and red lentil curry!

    rebeccastar at gmail dot com

  6. Kayla November 1, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    I am loving some Apple Cinnamon Muffins! You can use seasonal apples to make them and warm muffins are the perfect remedy to chilly autumn mornings.

  7. Amanda November 1, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    my new favorite fall recipe is the cauliflower mushroom pot pie thing with the olive flecked biscuit crust from Veganomicon 🙂 sooooooo gooooood!

  8. Eve November 1, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Butternut squash truffles! So much better than any old Halloween candy. Posting recipe tomorrow.

  9. Amanda November 1, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    tweeted it, too! @TattooedTragedy

  10. mandy November 1, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    In the fall when it’s nice and chilly, I like pretty mach anything whipped up vegan casserole style, but my favorite would have to be sweet potato kale bake.

  11. mandy November 1, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    tweeted @mandycapped

  12. Shannnon November 1, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    Kitchari from the 30 minute vegan. It’s so quick and versatile. You can make it with any seasonal vegetables you have on hand and it only takes about 30 minutes start to finish. My favorite is with asparagus and fresh thyme.

  13. cari November 1, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    My favorite fall recipe is corn chowder from vegan with a vengeance! The jalapenos really give it a kick!

  14. kala November 1, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    Awesome giveaway, thanks for the chance to win! My favorite fall dish is simple – roasted veggies!

    -craftytofu at yahoo

  15. kala November 1, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    I also just tweeted your giveaway! (Vegancraftastic)

  16. veganshane November 1, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    Halloween nachos!!! Its our family tradition!!

  17. veganshane November 1, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    I re-tweeted the contest twitter is @veganshane

  18. Noelle @vegan Opera singer in kitchen November 1, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    Thanks for the giveaway! I am looking forward making a walnut loaf as my “meat” Can;t wait! noellsky (at) gmail (dot) com

  19. Lori November 1, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    Pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin cheesecake!

  20. Portia November 1, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    My favorite fall treat – it’s a tie between any kind of roasted squash and the awesome All American Pot Pie from Veganomicon which my husband makes for Thanksgiving every year.

  21. Portia November 1, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    @veganportia tweeted! (That sounds so wrong)

  22. sarahstup November 1, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    It’s a toss up. Corn and pumpkin empanadas or red peppers stuffed with a wild rice/lentil filling. Both are warm and delicious, perfect for a cold night.

  23. veganlisa November 1, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Ah, I can’t get my hands on Melisser’s book. Thank you for the chance to win.

    Cheers.

  24. veggie365 November 1, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    You can’t beat the humble dish of Chili for fall! 🙂

  25. celyn November 2, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    My favorite fall dish is soup! I’ve been making loads of it and freezing it: Caribbean split pea, onion, cream of tomato. Next on the agenda is curried carrot. I’ve got a copy of Melisser’s book for a giveaway in a couple of days, and I seriously want to keep it! I’d love to win this giveaway.

  26. SallyT November 2, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Again soup, soup, soup. Love it. Tonight was a tasty cabbage and potato soup w/ extra veggies.

  27. kara kara November 2, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    Soooooup! My favorite lately is Chickpea Noodle Soup. It’s about time to make that one again.

  28. Alina November 3, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    my favorite fall food is anything pumpkin related, especially granola bars and muffins, when they’re right out of the oven and nice and warm. :9

  29. debbie November 3, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    potatoes, potatoes, potatoes… I can’t get enough of them at the moment. Especially leek and potato soup with a massive hunk of brown bread on the side.

  30. nicolaknits November 3, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    Hi, found you via Ravelry. I love roasted vegetables (my husband would eat them every day for dinner). Yams, parsnips, carrots, beets, some cabbage or brussels sprouts, cut up and tossed with olive oil and herbs and roasted for 40 minutes @400 degrees. So good. Book looks great – we’ve been vegan for about 23 years and love to see people spreading the good news.

  31. nicolaknits November 3, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    And just in case that comment of mine didn’t link properly, I blog at nicolaknits.wordpress.com and my email is nicolaknits AT gmail DOT com.
    Nicola

  32. Christina Maki November 3, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    Thanks for hosting the contest! I’m super excited to read the book.

    My favorite fall dish right now is my own concoction: roasted butternut squash stuffed with quinoa, raisins, sweet potato chunks, and walnuts. I make a simple glaze to bind all the stuffing together with vegan margarine, cinnamon, a dash of curry, and some agave nectar for a little sweetness. SO GOOD.

    I also tweeted your contest! @christinamaki

  33. Josiane November 3, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Favorite fall dish? It’s hard to name just one, but right now I’d say a Burgundy Stew. I’ve made one based on Vegan Dad’s recipe last year, and can’t wait to make it again – only this time, I’ll add more beans.
    Thanks for this chance to win Melisser’s book!

  34. Josiane November 3, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    I’ve tweeted your giveaway: http://twitter.com/#!/kimianak/status/29593899145 (My Twitter ID: @kimianak)

  35. Drunkie McDrunkenstein November 3, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    We make a veganized version of my mom’s pumpkin roll. It’s like pumpkin bread rolled up around vegan cream cheese.
    It’s amazing and we have to make them two at a time. No one like to share them.

  36. jenny November 3, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    First of all, anything I can make a pumpkin spice version of is my number one. But number two is any kind of soup, I love making soups!

  37. Deirdre November 4, 2010 at 4:46 am #

    Baked squash, just plain and simple! No sweetener, no salt, maybe a little hot pepper 🙂

    carrioncycles at gmail dot com

  38. Autumn November 4, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    I am in total love with the posole recipe from 101cookbooks.com. The only mods are the toppings, but it is spicy and comforting and delicious! We have it with toasted tortilla strips, diced avocado and a smidge of vegan sour cream. Yum, yum, yum!

  39. Amanda T. November 4, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    I love eating my mom’s candied yams on Thanksgiving.

  40. Amanda T. November 4, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    I tweeted the giveaway. http://twitter.com/#!/adthomas/status/374539133394944

  41. Melissa November 5, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    My favorite fall dish is hearty bean chilli!!

  42. Amy V November 5, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    My favorite fall dish is lentil stew…yum!

  43. Aimee Dars Ellis November 6, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    My favorite fall dish (entree) is the chickpea pie from one of Sarah Kramer’s cookbooks – my husband makes it and it is so yummy, but he has to take the onions out because I am an onion-hater. My favorite fall dessert is vegan apple pie!

  44. matthew harrison smith November 8, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    no favorite. just love the contest! and this month! wish you encouragement from Boise, ID!

  45. jessica November 9, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    When I think of fall I think of this amazing mushroom, leek, white bean pie that has a walnut (instead of tofu) base. It’s so earthy and comforting. Perfect to eat at room temperature, curled up with a book with a cat sitting in your lap. Love it!

  46. megs November 13, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    I love the pumpkin baked ziti with caramelized onions and walnut-sage bread crumbs from Veganomicon!!! It is THE BEST.

  47. Marika November 14, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    So hard to choose one dish…Fall always has me craving squash, so how about a big juicy butternut squash, stuffed with kale & quinoa, mmm! I got my iron intake for the day, just by typing that out 🙂

  48. Marika November 14, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    I tweeted!! @madcapcupcake

  49. Meredith November 14, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    pumpkin anything! as soon as it chills down i want to bake everything with pumpkin.

  50. Jojo November 14, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    My favourite fall dish would have to be apple crumble, it’s so warming & British apples are in season

  51. Jojo November 14, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    I tweeted too I’m @veganinbrighton

  52. Sharday November 14, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    Vegan Pumpkin Muffins. The recipe is from the cookbook “vegan with a vengeance” and I bake them in a pan with pumpkin molds in it. It’s like a piece of pumpkin shaped pumpkin pie cake. It’s deliciously redundant and really makes it feel like fall! 🙂

  53. Sharday November 14, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Also I tweeted! @IndieAlaska

Comments are closed.

