Regarding my Future

23 Aug

I’ve been holding out on making the official announcement for awhile due to some rather irritating complications, but I think I can finally tell the world! In a little more than a week I will be starting classes at the Academy of Art where I will be majoring in knitwear design. I am extremely excited, and nervous, but mostly excited. I’ve missed being in design school since I graduated last year, and even though I’ve been taking a few classes here and there I’m ready to go back full time. I’m hoping that along with being personally fulfilling this will open new doors for me career-wise.

I loved working on my associates degree in fashion design at FIDM where I learned a great deal about design and construction with wovens, but since I began working in the knitwear market earlier this year I’ve discovered that I really want to expand my knowledge and go for my BFA where I can experiment with  a variety of materials and design techniques. The school has amazing facilities and equipment that I can’t wait to get my hands on.

Of course, I wouldn’t have this amazing opportunity without my  family. They support me unconditionally and never hesitate to tell me how proud they are. I’m getting kind of tear-y eyed just writing this. They are seriously great.

So that’s what I will be up to for the next two years. I’ll be still be working, so you can bet with adding full time school I will be a little bit busy. But don’t worry, I’ll update you on any neat projects I have going on for school, and of course whatever I’m working on in my free (err…bus commute?) time.

5 Responses to “Regarding my Future”

  1. Stacey August 23, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Congrats! That’s really exciting news!
    Best of luck 🙂

  2. Cassie August 23, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Congrats! That’s awesome!

  3. kala August 24, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Congrats, that’s super exciting!!!

  4. cseneque August 25, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    Wow, congratulations! Such great news!

  5. Nebraskalaska August 26, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    thanks everyone : )

Leave a Reply

